It’s easy to lose sight of things…

February 5, 2012 at 4:11 pm (Uncategorized)

     I have a goal.  Well, I have many goals, but the most concrete of these is to finish college.  Simple enough, yes? No.  I’ve been doing this college thing for about six years now, and am as close to finishing it up as I was about three years ago.
     It’s been stop and go for me.  I stop because I’m depressed, because a crisis appears and I apparently can’t handle two important things at once, because I’m managing my time terribly, because I twist my priorities, because I just don’t care.  
     It’s go because my family wants me to do college, because I want to be anywhere than home, because after all this time I might as well finish, because I don’t even know why, because I finally found an area of study I want to dedicate the next few years of my life to.
     After changing my major several times and working myself slowly into an apathetic state when it comes to school, I actually have a clear end in mind for this thing called “college”.  But there’s so much I have to do still that I feel intimidated at times.  Yes, I want to go to San Jose State and get my BA in Art Photography, but before then I have to complete classes at another community college, and actually apply to SJSU and take classes there.  And yes, I’m actually excited to take photo classes once I get to San Jose state- I adore photography, they have an awesome program, and I honestly will enjoy devoting my time to learning the skills and techniques needed to make my artistic vision come to life.  But in the meantime, I’m going to have to take random classes like English and Political Science that only interest me minimally (or in some cases a lot) but honestly…after six years of all of this, I’m really tired of the filler.  As Rapunzel says, When will my life begin?

And yes, I just compared my life to a Disney movie.  Deal with it.

Leave a Reply

